Journalists, on account of their research and a ground level understanding of issues, have a distinctive role in driving the development agenda for the nation. Through this knowledge base, they can proactively introduce innovative proposals for effecting change. The question therefore is – how can journalists reinforce and proliferate the abundance mindset?  How can we collectively proliferate positive news and positive thinking that can impact the nation’s development?

With this context and background, The PoleStar Foundation was instituted in 1998, an independent Trust, established, to recognize ‘Excellence in Business and IT Journalism’ in India. The Foundation is governed by the PoleStar Advisory Committee (PAC).  The PAC is a panel of high profile thought leaders from the Indian IT industry and other leading businesses. Members of the PAC  include Dr. Ashok Jhunjhunwala – Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering & Head, TeNet Group, IIT Madras, V. Balaraman – Director, India Nippon Electricals Ltd, Director, Mahindra World City Developers Ltd, Director, Adrenalin eSystems Ltd, Chairman, CAMS, C K Ranganathan – Chairman & Managing Director Cavinkare Pvt. Ltd, Prof. S. Sadagopan – Director, Indian Institute of Information Technology Bangalore (IIIT-B),  Vittal N – Former Central Vigilance Commissioner and Arun  Jain, Chairman and Managing Director, Intellect Design Arena Pvt Ltd.

The Polestar Award was instituted to recognize outstanding talent among Indian media professionals and celebrate stupendous contributions from media citizens who have acted as catalysts in disseminating quality information to the world. From an initial focus on IT, the annual PoleStar Award today salutes exemplary work in IT and Business Journalism. Sustained efforts in excellence recognition is an important component in Leadership Capacity Building, and this is the 18 successive year of the PoleStar Award for journalism where winning submissions are selected after a rigorous evaluation process by an eminent jury panel.

Polestar Award categories include: the best feature in IT journalism, the best feature in Business journalism and a Jury Special Recognition award. The award is open only to Indian publications (print and online). Any article that has appeared in print or online medium is eligible for submission.

CONTENT, CONTEXT, CONNECT AND COMMUNICATION – These 4Cs are the basis on which the nominations for Polestar Awards are evaluated every year by an independent and distinguished panel of jury members. 

Content – In-depth with insight, quality of research and accuracy of forecast.

Context – Relevance with a comprehensive perspective

Connect – Impact on the reader as well as on the jury members.

Communication – Presentation of facts, the simplicity of language and the logical flow of thoughts.


  • Going global to include international journalists, focused on the India success story.
  • Expanding reach by looking not just at journalistic excellence but  also those  innovations that are positively impacting rural India.
  • Celebrating best practices of self –governance among Gram Panchayats.
  • Setting up an Academy to nurture and mentor young talent.

17th PoleStarAward winners : Sarika Malhotra, Senior Assistant Editor, Business Today,  Mansi Kapur, Head Digital, Fortune India, Goutam Das, Senior Editor, Business Today, flanked by Arun Jain (left) and Raghu Ram, President of Risk, Security & New Venture Reliance Industries (right)

Excellence in IT Journalism 1999, Anand Parthasarathy

Best IT Feature 2011, Srikanth R P

Excellence in IT Journalism 1999, Anand Parthasarathy

“With the ever-changing technology industry and a dynamic business environment in our country, there is abundant information available that has to be crafted into a story that can create a positive influence. I believe that the media is one such powerful catalyst that can disseminate such impactful information to the world. The PoleStar Award was formed to encourage and salute the exemplary work in the field of IT and Business Journalism.”

Polestar Advisory Committee 

The PoleStar Advisory Committee (PAC) is a panel comprising of successful thought leaders Indian industry and Government Services.

Department Of Electrical Engineering & Head, TeNet Group, IIT Madras

Indian Institute of Information Technology Bangalore (IIIT-B)

Chairman & Managing Director
Cavinkare Pvt Ltd

Former Central Vigilance Commissioner

Director, India Nippon Electricals Ltd
Director, Mahindra World City Developers Ltd
Director, Adrenalin eSystems Ltd
Chairman, Cams

Arun Jain

Chairman & Managing Director
Intellect Design Arena Ltd


Visit for further information

Contact for any further clarifications.